​​Peru Wrestling

"No Magic, just hard work!!"

 What a Ride, What a Year....

We had several big events happen for the first time in program history this season.
  • Team finished 17-3 in dual meets and did not lose a match after the first week of the season
  • 1st time team has won Conference, Sectional, and Regional in back to back years (2013,2014)
  • 145 lbs Evan Loe 1st ever 4X Conference, 4X Sectional, 4X Regional Champ
  • 132 lbs Kegan Kern 3rd ever 4x Conference Champ
  • 145 lbs Evan Loe 4th ever 4X Conference Champ
  • This year’s team had four 100 + win club members (Connor Quin, Kegan Kern, Evan Loe, Nick Cress)
  • First time we have ever had 2 Academic All State (1st Team) in same year (Shane Garretson and Connor Quin)
  • Three State Finalists in one year (Has happenend FOUR times 2000, 2005, 2008 and now 2014)
  • Team was 36-6 over the last 2 years
  • 1st time we have placed all 14 wrestlers at Mid Indiana Conference top 6 places.
  • Evan Loe finished 3rd all-time in career wins
  • Fist time winning the Peru J.H. Wrestling and Peru H.S.Wrestling teams have won the  M.I.C. in same year
  • Coach Andy Hobbs gets inducted into the Indiana High School Wrestling Coaches Association Hall of Fame.
Peru Wrestling has 31 wrestlers compete for HYWAY State Championships.
  • State Champions: Nick Cress, Peyton Sturgill, Erik Hobbs, Jordan Rader, Dakota Mitchell